Highlights from the
April Student Presentation Meeting at Texas A&M University, College Station

By:  Latha Vasudevan, Ph.D, CHP, STC-HPS President

The State of Texas Chapter of the Health Physics Society (STC-HPS) held its Annual Student Presentation meeting and the Executive Council meeting on April 6-7, 2018, hosted by Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas. The Executive Council meeting was held April 6 at 6 p.m. at Environmental Health and Safety, 1111 Research Parkway. Members present were Tracy Tipping (STC-HPS president-elect), Janet Gutiérrez, Sandra Ramirez, Erich Fruchtnicht, Linda Morris and John Hageman. Others in attendance were Scott Nickelson and Doug Johnson. The Election results for the new officers of the Chapter were announced. Tracy Tipping as President-Elect, William Pate as Secretary, Billie Harvey moved from Secretary to Board member and Latha Vasudevan moved from President-Elect to President. Amanda Sullivan will serve as Past President and Jay Poston as the Treasurer. Erich Fruchtnicht and Janet Gutiérrez will continue as Board members.

The Student Presentation meeting was held on April 7 at the Texas Institute for Pre-Clinical Studies (TIPS). We had more than 65 attendees Saturday morning and all of them enjoyed the excellent breakfast served by MadTaco. The morning sessions started- off with undergraduate degree candidates from Texas A&M University, College Station and Baylor University, Waco. This was followed by two high school students (Science Fair winners) who shared their phenomenal work "Radioactive Dinner" and "Improved Reception Techniques to Overcome the Sun's Negative Effect on Radio Propagation" respectively.

From L to R: Erich Fruchtnicht, Tracy Tipping, Latha Vasudevan, Billie Harvey, Janet Guiterrez, Linda Morris, and Sandra Ramirez

The afternoon sessions began around 1 pm after a sumptuous lunch catered through J. Cody. The first talk was from an Associate degree candidate from Texas State Technical College, Waco followed by Masters and Ph. D students from Texas A&M University. The talks ranged from a wide variety of health physics topics and all the students did an excellent job on sharing their work in front of the radiation safety professionals.

A total of $1050 dollars in awards was given for the best presentations by education level: Associate, Bachelors, and Graduate. In addition, the Chapter also provided appreciation gift cards to both the Science Fair winners.

The winners were:

Associates, 1st place winner
Austin Nichols
Bachelors, 1st Place winner
Catherine Arndt
Graduate, 1st Place winner
Katie Cook
Student Presenters (Photos Courtesy: Stan Bravenec)
Congratulations to all the presenters for their outstanding work and thanks to all the Chapter members and volunteers for their tireless effort in making this meeting a grand success. More pictures of the meeting are located in the following link: